45 leading UK academics awarded Advanced Grants by European Research Council

27 April 2022

45 leading UK academics have been announced today (27 April) as winners of Advanced Grants awarded by the European Research Council.

Advanced Grants are awarded to leading researchers who are established in their field and have a track-record of significant research achievements in the last 10 years. The 2021 competition will see funding worth €624 million going to 253 leading researchers across Europe, meaning almost a fifth of projects will be carried out at UK institutions, including 38 at Russell Group universities.

The grants will be delivered through the EU’s research and innovation funding programme, Horizon Europe. Under the Trade and Cooperation Agreement last year the UK and EU set out their shared commitment for the UK to associate to the programme. UK association to Horizon Europe will provide access to unprecedented opportunities for cross-border collaboration as well as a scale and breadth of funding that will bring multiple benefits to both Britain and our partners in Europe. For more detail on those benefits read our briefing here.

While negotiations are ongoing, the UK Government has stated that its priority remains association to the programme. It has announced a guarantee of funding for eligible, successful applicants to the programme regardless of the outcome of the UK’s efforts to associate, delivered through UK Research and Innovation. Guidance on the eligibility and scope of the guarantee, as well as how to apply, can be found on UKRI's website.

The Russell Group hopes to see association confirmed as soon as possible so both sides can unlock the benefits of the UK becoming a full associate member of Horizon Europe.

Grants were awarded to academics at 18 Russell Group universities, including Cambridge (9), Oxford (4), Bristol (3), Glasgow (2), King’s (2), Manchester (2), Nottingham (2), Sheffield (2), UCL (2), Birmingham, Durham, Exeter, Imperial, Queen Mary, Southampton, Warwick and York. The full list of winners can be found here.

Media Enquiries
Policy Enquiries

Follow us on Twitter